top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRosie the Homesteader

The Coast



I grew up in Boston, Massachusetts and loved living in the city. As I got older I started spending time in more rural locations like the Rocky mountains, a small coastal town called Tiverton located in Rhode Island and finally went to school in Burlington, Vermont. Burlington ruined me once and for all when it came to big city living. I decided I didn't really have an interest in pursuing a life in a predominantly urban setting. Life ended up taking me west to the rugged wilderness of Oregon. I remember so clearly being on the plane and watching Mt. Hood break through the cloud line. I thought to myself - all these year and Tolkien was right! Middle Earth exists and I'm about to live there! That feeling has stayed with me throughout the 4 years I've lived here. My heart just soared seeing the Oregon coast. Back home we always referred to the ocean as "the beach". Come summertime you could pack a cooler and spend the whole day basking and swimming with the family. In Oregon it was something entirely different. The ocean was always called "The Coast" and winds whip down beach all day, sand spreads like glitter, getting everywhere, there is almost always fog and the waves go on forever. It felt untouched, rugged and uncrowded. I fell in love with Oregon all over again. And again. And again. Each time I went to the coast I fell harder and harder for this state.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page